Big D/little d

I went to that thing tonight and someone asked me if I was from little d. I said I grew up in Big D. She said “Don’t you think Big D is more image conscious than little d?”

I said “Let me put it this way, last time I was in Big D I saw someone take off a shirt and throw it away because it had a hole in it.”

“And that’s different from little D?”

“In little d you would not only wear the shirt until the sleeves fell off but receive many compliments on the vague but sardonic message/band name you had written on it in sharpie. You would continue to wear the shirt until there were just enough fibers left to cut it into strips and weave a small charmingly crooked potholder that you would then take to the community market and trade someone for an heirloom tomato or wabi sabi craft of equal value.”

“Wow.”

“So, you can see those are both images of sorts. Or were you asking if I thought people in little d were unconscious? Because that happens a lot too.”

Paper Towels Below